Skip to content

What you need is a cold shower…

October 5, 2010

This one is not for the faint of heart… That’s right people – the Evergreen residents have gotten serious to the point of foregoing a hot shower in the name of saving energy! Thanks to Dan Case for this (literally) cool energy-saving tip.

by Dan Case

One way in which I save energy comes from my memories of the two semesters spent living in a student dorm in Muenster, Germany from 1955 to 1956. The shower facilities in our dorm gave only cold water unless you stuck a few coins into a slot, in which case you got a few minutes of hot water. Most or all of us showered much of the time with just the cold water.

I find that during the warm season, when my thermostat is at 76 (or higher, on the hotter days), a cold shower is refreshing and seems to contribute OK to cleanliness. Accordingly, I take one or more cold showers in between the hot ones. When I do take a hot shower, I do it right after getting up in the morning, when the air brought into the house by the exhaust fan isn’t hot.

Now I plan to experiment with cold showers in the cold season, when my thermostat is at 65 (or lower, on the coldest days). With the temperature in my house having dropped to around 70 degrees, everything so far is going well. Wish me luck as the temperature drops further!

Another way I save energy is by washing some of my clothes in cold water, using a laundry detergent labeled as being designed for cold water. This, too, seems to work well for me.

If you have any comments or questions for Dan, e-mail Ashley and she will pass them along. Thanks so much to this extremely dedicated Evergreen residents for sharing his story!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

